Unseasonably cool weather

…has lead to me feeling unseasonable creative! I have finished several little projects that I have been working on for a couple of weeks. I am making an art quilt and here are a few components that I am placing on it:Aviary Photo_130195691108292257

DSCN8703

I have been hand sewing the binding on my son’s Super Mario quilt. I will have that completed this week. And I have been working on test blocks. This has lead me to an adventure in applique.

DSCN8702

Aviary Photo_130195691635159577

I use the fuseable web method of applique. My sewing machine can sew a blanket stitch now like a dream so I spent several hours working on a new block and stitching the fused blocks I had in my UFO bin. I am not very good at applique but dare I say I started to kinda liked it this weekend! It was a weird moment of “zen” stitching and cutting and fusing….

On the slate this week is long arm quilting. I have the second grandbaby quilt to do, a customer quilt and one of my queens have backing. I hope to load and quilt one, maybe two this week.

wpid-IMG_20130727_220842.jpg

And just an update, the glass tile pendant project is still in a state of flux. The adhesive I used turned the tile black because the ink ran. Note to self, read all the directions several times and MAKE A LIST when you go to hobby lobby. I need Diamond Glaze to adhere the paper to the glass. And I didn’t buy it because I wasn’t sure if it was the right thing and it was $10. I always have time to go to that store on Sunday when they are closed, just like the quilt shops!

 

Vicki

3 Comments

  1. Did you tat your cross? You don’t see too many people doing that anymore. I have a good friend that tats too. She has been doing it for years. It is fun to use the different stitches on our sewing machines. Looks like you have that blanket stitch down pat!

    Like

  2. Don’t you just love how our machines can do the blanket stitch to complete an appliqué on our work? I know I enjoy doing on the machine, because I don’t do much appliqué and have not perfected other methods of appliqué.

    Like

Leave a Comment :)

