It’s Here, It’s Here!!!

 

2013-11-01 12.42.54

On this blustery, rainy day the mail brought a wonderful surprise. The latest Quiltmaker 100 Blocks Magazine. I have embarked on a wonderful journey testing a few blocks for this magazine. I had such a wonderful time making each block. It tested my skills, expanded my comfort zones and taught me new techniques. I could NOT be happier! I am going to share one block each day over the next 2 weeks with a few ideas on what I learned making each block.  Thanks Quiltmaker for the magazine and for allowing me to be part of your testing team!!

 

 

DSCN7490

Here is my first test block. It is #784 in the magazine. It is a traditional pieced 12 inch block. Yes, tiny little components, just my thing.

What did I learn from this block? It is imperative that your 1/4 inch seam is accurate. Cutting each tiny piece accurately is essential, too. I have since bought a new ruler with Non slip features and a new cutting mat. Also, new blades will make for  accuracy in cutting!

If I were to make this block again, I would use higher contrast fabrics. I would use smaller scale prints. And lastly, I would relax. I learned that I can trad piece vs. paper piecing.

 

Vicki

 

Leave a Comment :)

