Block #735

2013-11-01 12.42.54

 

The new Quiltmaker magazine arrived in the mail for me. I tested a few blocks for this issue last summer and I am going to share them with you along with a few things that I learned along the way while making each block. I was able to expand and build many skills and this block was one. Applique!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

2013-04-07 20.56.13

 

I am Not very good at applique. All applique blocks I do are using fusible webbing. It is not something that I am pleased with the final product. I worried about making this block because it was my first attempt at applique in years!! I was happy that applique was only part of this block. I used black thread to stitch it down and that made the sewing machine look very nice. The buttons are only sitting there for the picture because long arming quilts and buttons don’t mix!

 

What I learned, this block has an old timey feel. I should have used more vintage prints for the other components vs. the modern prints. I didn’t purchase fabric for these test blocks so I have a interesting combo here.

All of the blocks went into a bin of blocks and I plan to sort them and make a sampler in the future.

 

Vicki

Leave a Comment :)

